First Conference and Founding Members (1969)

Synopsis[.pdf] of the 1969 Conference

The first Meeting of CHINOPERL was held in 1969 at Cornell University.

CHINOPERL was founded in 1969 by Yuen Ren Chao (趙元任, 1892-1982), Harold Shadick (1915-1992), Cyril Birch (1925- ), and other eminent scholars.

The acronym, CHINOPERL, was coined by Prof. Y.R. Chao, from CHINese Oral and PERforming Literature.

The participants at that 1969 CHINOPERL Conference — in other words, the founding members of CHINOPERL — total twenty in all. They were:

  1. Eugene Anderson
  2. Cyril Birch
  3. Nicholas Bodman
  4. E. Bruce Brooks
  5. Yuen Ren Chao
  6. Clayton Chuen-tang Chow
  7. James Crump
  8. Milena Dolezelova
  9. Wolfram Eberhard
  10. Dale Johnson
  11. Alan L. Kagan
  12. Chun-jo Liu
  13. John McCoy
  14. David Owen
  15. Rulan Pian
  16. Wayne Schlepp
  17. Harold Shadick
  18. Catherine Stevens
  19. Charles J. Wivell
  20. Daniel S. P. Yang

[pdf] - Some links on this page are to .pdf files.  If you need these files in a more accessible format, please contact chinoperl.web@gmail.com. PDF files require the use of Adobe Acrobat Reader software to open them. If you do not have Reader, you may use the following link to Adobe to download it for free at: Adobe Acrobat Reader.